2015: The Year That Was

I know we aren’t quite at the end of 2015 yet, but I feel like we are close enough for me to justify a round-up post like this ;) I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to answering questions/filling in forms, I just love it! So here we go, a few bits about the year that was…

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 3.53.10 PM
If you had to describe your 2015 in 3 words, what would they be?
Busy (even though this is a word I am trying to stop using so much!) Creative, and Exciting

What new things did you discover about yourself?
That I can do anything I put my mind to, as cliched as it sounds; and that I can juggle more than I ever thought I could!

What single achievement are you most proud of?
That I spotted an emerging trend (adult colouring in) and then started, successfully grew and sold a business (You Biscuit!) in the space of less than a year!

What was the best news you received?
Probably news of the acceptance of a really big quote by one of my American clients; but also all the positive feedback I received on my You Biscuit! posters

What was your favourite place that you visited in 2015?
Easy – my recent trip to Cape Town was the best, cant wait to visit again next year!

Who was your number one go-to person that you could always rely on?
Another easy one, my homegirl Nicola Tweed – ever supportive and inspiring.

Which new skills did you learn?
I cant narrow it down to a skill per se, but I guess the most important thing I’ve learnt overall/in terms of business, is to keep assessing, refining and improving things constantly.

What, or who, are you most thankful for?
Always – my husband Murray, and my beautiful girls Addison and Julia

What was the most important lesson you learnt in 2015?
Not to worry about money, clients or work – it will always come

What was your biggest break-through moment career-wise?
Changing my attitude towards doing work for free/underpricing – valuing myself and my skills more; once this changed, the type of clients I attracted began to change too and I am now blessed to be in the position (most of the time) to actually choose who I want to work with

What was your favourite compliment that you received this year?
As work-driven as I may appear, my kids are number one – I always feel special when someone compliments my mom skillz ;) I also loved to hear how people were enjoying my colouring poster, loved to get feedback from happy customers.

What cool things did you create this year?
Lots of things, because, full-time creative – but I reckon creating my own inspiring work space in the form of a dedicated home office is probably high up on the list

Was there anything you did for the very first time in your life this year?
Yes! I commissioned a painting which Im really excited about – I am going to pick it up soon but have seen photos and Im just thrilled with how it looks!

How did your overall outlook on life evolve?
I have learnt (decided) not to waste time/energy on people who do not bring positivity and joy into my life – this has been a big realisation for me this year because I have experienced the empowering vibes of positivity and the law of attraction.

What was the funniest moment of your year, one that still makes it hard not to burst out laughing when you think about it?
My sister, telling me all her favourite Afrikaans swear word combinations that she likes to make use of during bouts of road rage (runs in the fam!)

What purchase turned out to be the best decision ever?
A small Macbook Pro to function as my secondary computer (iMac my main one) and allow for flexibilty in terms of where I work (sometimes you just need to escape your desk, even if you have a fabulous workspace!)

What did you think about more than anything else?
Work, lol! Luckily I love what I do :)

What topics did you most enjoy learning about?
Probably learning more about WordPress websites and design – I completed the design of my first two proper WordPress sites this year (with the help of a local developer while Nicola, my go to, is on Maternity leave) and I’m so chuffed with how they came out (see Warlaby Beef and Vine)

What one thing would you do differently and why?
I would definitely try to balance my work and personal life a bit more – less working on weekends and at night… I know most freelancers/work from home types struggle with this and it’s going to take ongoing work to get to where I’d like to be…

Screen Shot 2015-12-20 at 3.55.07 PM

(list of questions adapted from this 2014 blog post on Into Mind)

3 thoughts on “2015: The Year That Was

  1. Cathy says:

    Warlaby Beef website is amazing! As well as some beautiful wedding stationery :) Wishing you and the family a great Christmas and wonderful 2016 to come.

Leave a Reply

