My visit to Angels’ Care Centre in Howick as Part of the Kellogg’s Breakfast for Better Days Campaign

I’m partnering with Kellogg’s to spread the world about their Breakfast for Better Days Initiative – anyone trying to improve the lives of children who go to school on an empty stomach (that’s one in five children in South Africa!) get’s my vote.

I’m so grateful that this opportunity led me to an organisation in the village of Howick who are also striving to change the lives of children who really need the help.

Angels’ Care Centre is a school, crisis centre and feeding scheme operator all rolled into one – I can’t begin to describe some of the stories that principal Yvette shared with me, but the organisation are doing such amazing work with the local community and I’m so humbled to have been welcomed into their fold with open arms.

Part of my role in the Kellogg’s BFBD campaign required that I undertake an act of kindness that would help to give someone the right start to their day, and bringing a yummy breakfast treat to the kids at Angels Care one Friday morning seemed to be the perfect idea – I’m not very good at the whole video vibe but this clip and the pics to follow will give you a glimpse of the kiddies enjoying their muffins, fruit, yoghurt and juice:

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 10.15.09 AM Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 10.16.41 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-14 at 10.16.56 AM

Tomorrow I’m off to Durban to join the Kellogg’s team and dietitian Kelly Francis at Amatikwe Primary School for a nutrition talk and fun foodie workshop with the kids – so exciting!


Kellogg’s  nominates YOU to reach out in any way you can– dropping off breakfast at a nearby shelter, or your local old age home – film your act of kindness, and share on twitter with the hashtags #WorldFoodDay, #KellogsBFBD and #PowerofBreakfast , encouraging others to do the same.

Kelloggs Infographic - Social Media

Leave a Reply

