Julia turns 2: my baby is not a baby anymore… (and she started SCHOOL today!)

On the 25th September, my sweet baby Jules turned two. It has been another year with this little cherub, filled with warmth, affection and smiles.

I love both my girls so much but they are also so incredibly different that I can’t compare the love I have for each. As I have always maintained, Jules is the heart-melter, and much like her daddy she is always chilled and content to go with the flow…

We didn’t have a party this year (I do ‘first birthdays‘ and then I don’t really do parties until they are old enough to ‘get it’ – Addi turns 4 next year, we may consider having one for her then but will see…) but we spoilt Jules at home with cake and pressies (again, a minimalist approach when it comes to gifts) and I think she had a good day. Being the child that she is, every day is a good one if she is surrounded by her faves: me, dad and Addi of course, plus ‘Keelay’ (Fikile, her beloved nanny) and Kee-och (Enoch, the gardener)…

It really has been a year of physical growth for Jules – she finally learned to walk (at 17 months!), her love for dancing has only increased , and her vocab improves daily. Her hair is so long and is changing colour from a soft blonde to a dark mousey brown (much like mine was when I was young)… Her legs are lengthening and I keep startling myself when I put her in clothes that Addi was wearing only a short while ago!

But probably more exciting  than turning a whole year older was STARTING SCHOOL today!

It’s been a long wait  – in all honesty, we could have started her last term, she was totally ready – dropping big sis off every morning means that she has become familiar with the school and her little friends (we visited her classroom-to-be most mornings on the way back to the car…)

This morning meant that Jules got to carry her own lunch baggie through the school gates, put her own bag in her little locker, and join her friends and teacher in her new class (legit Duckling now, not just sometimes-visitor!)

We left her playing happily at the puzzle table, she didn’t even know that we had gone…

Part of me feels a tiny bit sad that she is growing up so quickly, but part of me also knows she is going to have the biggest jol EVER at school (the rest of me is just vokken stoked that school hols are over – Fikile was off sick the ENTIRE holiday so juggling kids, housework and actual work was NOT fun…)

A few pics below to mark the changes over the year gone by… I’m so proud of this child.

Don’t grow up to too fast now my little one <3

Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.18.38 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.13.00 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.19.50 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.17.19 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.16.18 AMScreen Shot 2015-10-12 at 10.18.26 AMIMG_1688IMG_1488IMG_2466IMG_2541IMG_2708IMG_2533IMG_2862

This morning before school:

IMG_2879IMG_2871

One from her teacher this morning:

IMG_2893

2 thoughts on “Julia turns 2: my baby is not a baby anymore… (and she started SCHOOL today!)

  1. sarah-faye says:

    Man alive she is so cute! Love the pic of her and her new buddies, fitting in like she has been there all year! Happy first day of school little one, love you lots x

Leave a Reply

