February, say whaaaat?! (A little catch up)

Still trying to get my head around the fact that it’s ALREADY FEBRUARY 2015! How did that even happen?! So far I am averaging ONE blog post a month this year. Not ayoba…

The past month has been a whirlwind – probably due to the fact that I began the New Year with a nanny-free-fortnight and was literally in a child-chaos-haze for the first two weeks of Jan. Fikile (Wonder Nanny) returned (hallelujah!) and Addi went off to school (hallelujah, again!) and things have slowly started returning to ‘normal’…

I’ve been working with so many cool clients – Rondavel as usual, Tanya from Rattle & Mum and Tous Les Jours to name a few – and have some fabulous projects lined up for the next month or so too, so all is good in the work hood!

I’ve signed up for Run/Walk for Life which I will be starting on Wednesday – time to work at my running goal again – but this time, I will be doing it VERY slowly and hopefully injury-free…

I’ve kind of closed shop with Baby Bird Basics for the time being – if I’m honest, it takes up too much time and sewing bibs can become a bit monotonous (there are too many copycats around these days anyway!), so have moved on to focusing on a NEW and even MORE EXCITING little side project of mine called You Biscuit! And I can’t wait to share it with you all! It promises lots of fun, creativity and South African flava ;)

We welcomed Twinkie (pictured below) to the family recently – she’s a mixed breed special that we adopted from 4 Paws and A Tale Rescue – can’t event begin to describe the joy she has brought to our family, and to her new bestie Lily especially. They frolick around the garden ALL DAY and pass out together on their beds in the lounge at night, so sweet… Adopting was the best thing we ever did – please consider it if you are in the market for a pet!

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 1.13.03 PM
I won a Facebook competition at the end of last year – a very genrous voucher from The Ugly Ducking – and I went up to Rosetta to choose my prize recently, and this beautiful rocking chair now lives in Julia’s room and matches her patchy wooden floor perfectly ;)

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 1.14.21 PM

I know there’s been talk of a blog competition happening here soon – it is coming, I promise – can’t wait to share all the exciting goodies up for grabs :)

Hopefully now that I have broken the ice with this long overdue post, my blogging mojo will return ;)

Happy week everyone x

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “February, say whaaaat?! (A little catch up)

  1. miche17 says:

    Hey Andrea! I, for one, am sad that Baby Bird Basics has closed shop for a while. Though I understand your point about monotony and copycats (they are EVERYWHERE now!). But what I’m not seeing any of is the breastfeeding aprons you used to make. I was hoping to commission you to make one for me in a month or two. Do you know of any other retailers or crafters who are making something similar? The wire in front to allow for eye contact and for Mom to see what’s going on is the biggest plus for me with those. The breastfeeding shawl I had for Ava didn’t work too well when I wanted to peek under it – everyone else in the room saw what was under it too, then! :) Happy February! And Twinky looks absolutely adorable, look at that huge grin on her little face! :)

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks friend, will keep my eyes open and ask around, might have someone in mind, will come back to you ;)
      x

  2. Gaelyn Cokayne says:

    So lovely to see a post from you pop up in my Bloglovin feed today! That rocking chair is gorgeous and I am so excited to hear all about your new venture yay!

  3. Caley says:

    I hear you with the nanny-free and school-free holidays – eeeeeek!! Busy time for you but so exciting too my friend x

Leave a Reply

