My favourite photo from 2014

Happy 2015 everyone! Finally getting round to my first blog post for the year – the silly season is now behind us and I can try to get back into a normal routine on the blogging, work and home front (well, as close to normal as possible while Addi is still on school holidays and our nanny is on leave for two weeks!)

At the beginning of every new year, I pick my favourite photo from the previous year to share and remember – the plan is to one day is to have a wall where I can have them all printed and framed, and now that we have moved into our forever home, I can actually start working on that :)

I have to admit that I’ve found it super hard to pick this year’s image – with the previous years’ pics, I knew immediately which one I wanted to showcase but really struggled this time round AND I’m feeling a bit self-indulgent about it because I’ve decided on using a photo of MEEEEEEEE!

926971_280176218802599_1890147636_n

Earlier in the year I had to take some professional portrait style shots of myself to use in a publication and this was one of the photos I ended up with but didn’t use because, lets be honest, it doesn’t exactly scream friendly or approachable ;) I took it in the lounge of my old home with some help from Monsieur Self-Timer and Madame Tripod, and a dash of good lighting. I like how it came out though, the contrast and clarity and oddly even the expression on my face and how nothing is perfect. It is also representative of a transformational period of the year where I’d lost a bit of baby weight and was just starting to get back on the wagon, post-baby.

Some things have changed since I took this photo – mostly physically – I have put on some of that weight I lost (crap – not letting it get to me though because this year I AM going to get back on top of it all) and also my hair, which is now back to blonde (hallelujah!) but there have also been mental and emotional changes since then, and I feel like Im really on the road to self discovery.

My mind has been opened to the likes of meditation, self actualisation, reiki and just believing in myself and making my dreams happen. To quote my dear Colleen from Midlands House of Healing, I need to stop sitting on the fence, thinking the “should have / could have / would have” ‘s and just get on with things.

I am SO excited for the year ahead. I have awesome work lined up and some fabulous home and personal projects on the go. I have a good feeling about it and I foresee great things, not only for myself but for people around me.

BRING IT, 2015 – you are mine!

Ps. If you’re interested, here are my favourite photos from previous years:
2010
2011
2012
2013

6 thoughts on “My favourite photo from 2014

  1. Lauren says:

    Lovely pic indeed. Glad you’re feeling spirited about the New Year. I am in back-to-work shock right now! Hope 2015 treats you well. x

Leave a Reply

