Homegrown Creatives: Meet Caroline Kappers

Caroline is another wonderful Cape-based artist whose preferred mediums are wine-painted-art, oil on canvas and charcoal. Yes, you heard correctly: WINE ART! Need I say more…

cleverbirdbanter-weekly-feature_caroline-kappers
Who are you and what do you do / make/ sell?

I am an artist living in Stellenbosch. I paint with red wine on watercolour paper as one of my mediums. My other passion is painting with oils on canvas as well as charcoal on paper.

Did you always know that you were headed in this direction – how did you get where you are today?
My creative journey stems from early childhood. However, it has led me down an unconventional path. I studied graphic design and my experience ranges between packaging, direct marketing, brand identity design and communication arts. 13 years ago and after the birth of 2 children, I felt the need to explore art on a much more personal level which has led me on this journey.

What makes my work unique?
My Wine-made-Art and my ‘Bokeh’, out of focus oil paintings have become my signature style.

Where do you look for inspiration?
My creativity is entirely centered around my own personal expression which I draw from my surroundings, and my family. I try to incorporate all elements that inspire me with a strong element of design. I create from my surroundings, travels, and photography. First Thursdays in Cape Town, has become my monthly outing and inspiration.

Who are your creative idols?
My creative mentors who I draw inspiration from are Marié Stander, Greg Lourens, Gregory Kerr, Kerry Evans, and then Alyssa Monks – Brooklyn Artist, Maria Kreyn, Jaclyn Conley, Sam French and Mark Dempsteader to name but a few of many inspiring artists. Gaugain, Chagall are the masters who’s palette inspires me the most.

Where do you like to hang out? What are your favourite spots in the city?
There is no one particular spot I like to frequent. I like exploring greater Cape Town, Woodstock and all the coffee shops and eateries in the surroundings. Kalk Bay is a firm favourite.

Given the opportunity, where would you like to travel/ explore?
Places less traveled; France, Italy, Spain. I would love to return to New York where I was part of a group exhibition last year – the Brooklyn Art Scene, Boston and Central Park in Summer.

How does a typical day for you play out?
It’s an early rise at 6am, kids, school, planning my week, art preparation, studio time…….my days are really full.

With a day all to yourself? (no meetings, distractions or to-do-lists) and an unlimited budget, what would you get up to?
I would start with an early rise, followed by a run with a friend with a rewarding stop at the end for a cappuccino. I would make use of that unlimited budget and order art supplies online. After which I would take a trip into Cape Town, armed with my camera and explore all the bespoke and hard to get to places where I would buy second-hand furniture for refurbishment, visit Truth Coffee shop, visit friends and family and shop for special clothing items.

If you could have any other profession, what would it be?
Travel writer/ reviewer

Where can we stalk you?
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
www.carolinekappers.com

What does your workspace/ studio look like?
My studio; I have a small studio separate from the house at my home – a high ceiling and lots of light and canvasses from floor to ceiling that surround me on 3 walls. I am surrounded by the vineyards and beautiful views of the Stellenbosch mountains.

What is the project you are most proud of to date?
I am really proud of my last ‘wine painted art’ painting; Mother City, Cape Town, Design Capital 2014, which was part of a competition through Tokara Wine Estate. I have been included in their collection over 3 years. The current exhibition runs from 11 September until 30 January 2015 at Tokara Wine Estate, Art Gallery.

IMG_1123Pindima 3mb_DSC7066Absorbed by LightSunday AfternoonBokeh 2mbEWP_1325IMG_1295Like-on-Facebook

 

2 thoughts on “Homegrown Creatives: Meet Caroline Kappers

Leave a Reply

