Homegrown Creatives Feature: Meet Jenny Parsons

I can’t remember what I was looking for on Pinterest recently when I came across a pic of a beautiful floral oil painting that led me to find out more about Cape Town based urban landscape artist Jenny Parsons, but I googled her immediately and sent off an email hoping she’d agree to take part in my Homegrown Creatives series, and here she is folks… I am infatuated with her beautiful portfolio of work and her style (I’m no art critic, I just like what I like!) and you can see more for yourself below, enjoy :)

cleverbirdbanter-weekly-feature_jenny-parsons
Who are you and what do you do / make / sell?

My name is Jenny Parsons. I’m an artist and I make drawings and paintings of urban and natural landscapes.

Did you always know that you were headed in this direction – how did you get where you are today?
I’ve always been an artist. I was privileged enough to be able to go straight to art college after school. After college I held many art related jobs and have been painting full time for the last fourteen years.

What makes your work / products / services unique?
Like any artist, I see the world in a particular way and I share that in my work. I’m a colourist and I get a kick out of rendering my world in the colours that I see. I use landscape as a metaphor for the human condition, a place for the eye and mind to play.

Where do you look for inspiration?
I adore cities and their surrounds, the markings and the many layers of human inhabitation on the land. The visual world of light and colour intrigues and inspires me.

Who are your creative idols?
I’m inspired by many visual artists, but long standing favourites are painters Pierre Bonnard, Claude Monet, Richard Diebenkorn and David Hockney.

Where do you like to hang out – what are your favorite spots in your town/city/country?
I live in Observatory, Cape Town and enjoy the fact that I can walk up the road with my husband to one of the local eateries in Obs. Favourites are CafΓ© Ganesh, 1890 House Sushi and Hello Sailor. For total relaxation, Silvermine Nature Reserve.

Given the opportunity, where would you like to travel/explore?
There are so many cities I’d like to visit and revisit. My next new city is Buenos Aires, and although I’ve been there before, I have a yearning for London.

How does a typical day for you play out?
When I’m working on a series of paintings, I get to the studio early in the morning and work until about 3 or 4pm. Then I walk my dog on the mountain and go home to supper and series. I’m a fairly boring person when I’m in painting mode.

With a day all to yourself (no meetings, distractions, to-do-lists) and an unlimited budget, what would you get up to?
I’d walk on the mountain then swim in the sea, eat a good tapas style lunch with friends and go home for an afternoon nap. Wouldn’t need much of a budget.

If you could have any other profession, what would it be?
On my toughest days in the studio, I fantasize about working in the post office. But in truth, I cannot imagine doing anything else.

Where can we stalk you?
Website http://www.jennyparsons.com. Join my mailing list if you’d like to be notified about exhibitions.

What does your workspace / studio look like?
I share a studio with fellow painter, Mary Visser. We have made a creative sanctuary with the necessary home comforts (kitchen, bookcase and bed) but most of all it functions as an efficient work space for long days of creative exploration.

What it the work/design/product/project you are most proud of to date?
I’m just completing a Post Grad Diploma in painting at Michaelis UCT. I’ve really pushed myself to re look at landscape painting in contemporary art practice, to break old habits and take risks. It’s been a challenge!

 

63437c0333319819f33cb4451d371693
gallery_3086
gallery_3435
gallery_3437
18_93_paradise-I
678_18_96_fynbos-landscape-III
18_542_Camps-Bay-skyline-(web)
gallery_2823
gallery_2137
gallery_3087
gallery_3089

Leave a Reply

