Piggly Wiggly parkrun – Free Weekly 5km Timed Run

I’ve heard people on Twitter going on about “parkrun” for a while now and figured it was a Jo’burg thing, until recently when I discovered that it’s actually national with events all over SA. Basically, local sponsors host the events and participants of all ages, shapes and fitness levels sign up to come along and run a timed 5-kay. Results are emailed to you and you can find out all sorts of interesting info and running stats on the parkrun website…

AND NOW, parkrun is coming to The Midlands! This weekend in fact :)

Why am I excited about this? I’m not sure. There must definitely be something in the air because let me just say that I AM NOT A RUNNER. I always joke and say that if I ever had to run for my life, I would literally die.

I’ve never been very good at it (picture the girl who always came last on school sports days), but I would love to get into it. So I’ve decided I’m going to start “training” (that word makes me LOL and cry at the same time) from next week.

In my garden.

Where no one can see me doing the Pheobe run. (Friends fans will know what I mean!)

I’ll probably give it a few weeks before I hit a parkrun event – mostly because I am that unfit and don’t want to bite off more than I can chew – but really looking forward to the challenge and welcome any beginners running tips? Anyone?!

For more info on parkrun (starting this weekend) check out image below and visit: http://www.parkrun.co.za/pigglywiggly/

10402046_681876065221846_8736712762825242184_nLike-on-Facebook

5 thoughts on “Piggly Wiggly parkrun – Free Weekly 5km Timed Run

  1. Gaelyn Cokayne says:

    Yay yay Yay go you!!!!! Baby steps, I started with running from one lamp post to the next, progressing a little further each time. Try set a date for your first park run so you know what you are working for and have the count down to enjoy. I think 3 weeks is plenty before trying your first one. Good luck!!!

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks Gae! I think Im going to go to the 2nd one (next weekend) – also have to work around hubby as need him to watch kids (he works every second weekend and is off next weekend so will be ideal) – I might just jog-walk and see how I go, hopefully convince Nicola/Keri/anyone to come with me so I have some moral support :) One step at a time, slowly progressing is totally the way forward! Will keep you updated! x

Leave a Reply

