Homegrown Creatives: meet Alexia from Klomp Ceramics

“What do you love to do? Mr Klompje asked his wife Alexia. A simple question not always so simple to answer. “Ceramics” said the voice in her dream that night, and that part of herself was awoken” – an introduction borrowed from Klomp Ceramics website, the online home of ceramicist Alexia Klompje, today’s featured Homegrown Creative… enjoy x

cleverbirdbanter-weekly-feature-alexia

Who are you and what do you do / make / sell?

I am a stylist, wife, survivor, woman, proud Cape Townian, and I make and sell handmade ceramics that tell my story.

Did you always know that you were headed in this direction – how did you get where you are today?

I think I subconsciously did. I’ve always loved ceramics and working with clay and looking back at my life I realise it was always the thing I really loved to do – it was always with me, a natural past of me. Klomp Ceramics happened at the right time – a time in which I needed to heal, change, grow, express myself.

What makes your work / products / services unique?

I think the fact that Klomp Ceramics is very personal, in work/product/service is what makes it unique. Each piece is one-of-a-kind and an expression of myself. As a collection, the pieces tell my story. I like to relate to each of my customers personally, whether it’s them popping into my home studio to purchase a unique handmade piece or receiving their purchase in a personally hand wrapped package, I see each exchange as a beautiful opportunity to inspire and connect with others.

Where do you look for inspiration?

I look everywhere! Through my life experiences I’ve learnt how to really open my eyes and see everything. On a day-to-day basis I’m inspired by my surroundings. Shadows, buildings, colours, textures…really anything goes! I’m also greatly inspired by what I’m going through and exploring internally at any given time.

Who are your creative idols?

I can’t say that I’m really the kind of person to have idols but I am inspired by a myriad of creatives out there. No one in particular. I can really appreciate everyone’s creativity, and believe that creativity is everywhere. Just living one’s life is a creative endeavour.

Where do you like to hang out – what are your favorite spots in your town/city/country?

I am lucky enough to live right in the centre of Cape Town CBD and like to hang out here the best! Even when I’m quiet at home, the buzz of the city is ever present. I love it. I spend a lot of time in The Company Gardens (which is really my backyard) and walking on Table Mountain with my husband Theo and Boston Terrier Bruce Lee.

Given the opportunity, where would you like to travel/explore?

I was a bit of a traveling gypsy in my twenties! I’d love to return to Brazil – one of my favourite places on Earth. I spent some time there about 10 years ago and miss it so much. I’m half Greek so always feel a slight soul pull to Europe – I’d love to explore more of Italy and Croatia next time I’m there.  And I definitely feel my future holds a little exploration into India and the East.

How does a typical day for you play out?

I wake up early, jump straight into my studio where I spend the day blissfully elbows deep in clay with Bruce Lee by my side, punctuated by a midday walk in the Company Gardens, until my husband returns home in the evening and we three go walking on the mountain. Obviously there is the occasional admin session but I try to get those over with as quickly as possible!

With a day all to yourself (no meetings, distractions, to-do-lists) and an unlimited budget, what would you get up to?

I’d be doing exactly what I’m doing now. Definitely with a shopping spree, pamper session and travel holiday thrown in there every now and again!

If you could have any other profession, what would it be?

Professional ballerina. Or fashion designer.

Where can we stalk you?

You can shop and visit Klomp Ceramics at klompceramics.com. From there you can stalk me via Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, catch up on Latest News, or contact me via email.

What does your workspace / studio look like?

It’s a happy, messy, wonderful space with one of the best views in Cape Town.

What it the work/design/product/project you are most proud of to date?

I’m very proud of Klomp Ceramics in it’s entirety – what it means to me, how it inspires myself and others, what each piece and every collection represents, it’s honesty.

1463594_256238914534076_1699321774_n Bold-Vases _K_L0683SampP-WebPattern-Plates8ad2547d1ef3560a605b3c5cab604004Geometric-Platters 18a5ca605ec08af0858ecd744bcf8ad2Urban-Tribe-Web-1

Leave a Reply

