Homegrown Creatives: meet illustrator, Adrie le Roux

Loving Adrie’s modern yet whimsical illustration and collage style – enjoy her interview x

cleverbirdbanter-weekly-feature-Adrie
Who are you and what do you do / make / sell?

My name is Adrie le Roux, I’m an illustrator based in Pretoria, South Africa. I create illustrations on a commission basis, and also produce work that’s for sale on Green Elephant and from my website and blog. I run a blog called She Draws Stuff, on which I feature current projects.

Did you always know that you were headed in this direction – how did you get where you are today?

I think illustration has always been something that I thought I would enjoy doing. I come from a fine arts background and have an intense love for children’s books and narrative; so, illustration is just a natural fit.

What makes your work / products / services unique?

I work in a variety of styles and I think my work is really able to adapt in order to tell a story. I like to think my work has a sense of humour too.

Where do you look for inspiration?

Everywhere. From long walks outside to art galleries and good conversation, the world is so full of places to find ideas.

Who are your creative idols?

Sophie Calle, Quentin Blake, Dan Eldon to name but a few.

Where do you like to hang out – what are your favorite spots in your town/city/country?

I love good coffee and good food, so, you’re likely to find me somewhere that provides both of those :)

Given the opportunity, where would you like to travel/explore?

Ah! Too many places! I have a whole list of places I’d like to travel to and see. Antarctica is one, I love reading books about early Antarctic expeditions. I’d love to see it for myself, try to imagine what the first explorers that landed there saw/felt/experienced.

I’m going to Paris in April, which has also been a long time dream! Baguette!

How does a typical day for you play out?

I love breakfast – the most important meal of the day

Then off to various work places, some days I illustrate, some days I lecture/teach, some days I take care of admin. I like to vary routine.

I work best at night, so, I’ll often put time aside to draw, illustrate and paint in the evenings rather than during the day.

With a day all to yourself (no meetings, distractions, to-do-lists) and an unlimited budget, what would you get up to?

I’d go somewhere new, armed with a pair of comfy shoes, some money for coffee, a notebook / a good book and take in the sights and sounds.

If you could have any other profession, what would it be?

I think I’d be a researcher … I love information.

Where can we stalk you?

Website: www.adrieleroux.co.za
Blog: www.shedrawsstuff.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shedrawsstuff
Twitter: @adrie_leroux

What does your workspace / studio look like?

Organized chaos!

What it the work/design/product/project you are most proud of to date?

I did an illustration for a book on the outgoing FNB CEO Michael Jordaan. I really enjoyed it, and I think the illustration worked really well. I worked with collage, which is my first love, so, overall it was just a project I really enjoyed.

city_740_wide  eve1_740_wide hello illustrations_3_740_wide still-lives_740_wide waiting_740_wideeducational_740_wide

4 thoughts on “Homegrown Creatives: meet illustrator, Adrie le Roux

  1. kbdsa says:

    been following you on pinterest, not sure how I missed your blog but been enjoying reading it today!

Leave a Reply

