Homegrown Creatives: meet multi-talented copywriter, blogger and photographer, Lauren

I’ve just realised that it has been a week since my last Homegrown Creatives post and I’ve written nothing in between! Where does the time go?! Here’s the lovely Durban-based Lauren from Glossary, sharing a little insight into her background, thoughts and inspirations – enjoy xcleverbirdbanter-weekly-feature-laurenWho are you and what do you do / make / sell?

Hello, I’m Lauren! I’m thirty-one and I work as a fashion writer. I also snap pictures and scribble my blog, Glossary.

Did you always know that you were headed in this direction – how did you get where you are today?

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved busying myself with creative projects. I was obsessed with drawing as a kid, lived for art class in senior school, twanged guitar in bands during my college years and fell in love with photography in my late twenties. I almost studied Fine Art but I went on to do a three-year Media diploma when I left high school. After wrapping my studies, I was fortunate to land my dream job at an amazing ad agency. I was able to dip my toe into radio, telly and everything in between. My boss thought I could scribble well and encouraged me to become a copywriter, which is what I’ve mostly done ever since. I never actually studied copywriting during college but I was always a bit of an English nerd. Also, I used to devour my mom’s fashion magazines when I was younger which has come in handy for my current job!

What makes your work / products / services unique?

My mad skillz!

Where do you look for inspiration?

I am mildly addicted to Pinterest! I also read a zillion fashion websites and I follow loads of bloggers and photographers. I feel most inspired after a trip the country with lots of thrifting and tea thrown in!

Who are your creative idols?

For years, my biggest inspiration has been Sandra Beijer who is a Swedish blogger, copywriter and author.

Where do you like to hang out – what are your favorite spots in your town/city/country?

Um, animals farms! I love driving through the country and petting animals along the way. I’m also a mega fan of Wakaberry and smoky dive bars!

Given the opportunity, where would you like to travel/explore?

I would visit my besties who are scattered all over the world. Then, I’d go to Sweden to meet Sandra.

How does a typical day for you play out?

It usually kicks off with two poached eggs on rye! Then it’s meetings, brainstorms and pages of writing!

With a day all to yourself (no meetings, distractions, to-do-lists) and an unlimited budget, what would you get up to?

I would go thrifting at all my favourite haunts! I’d probably tuck into a Wakaberry along the way and then have pizza with my boyfriend in the evening. Haha, I think I would do that even if I had a gazillion rand. I love a good bargain!

If you could have any other profession, what would it be?

I would sell second hand trinkets and treasures in a big old barn. My dogs would follow the customers around and I’d serve them tea and cupcakes. Well, I’d serve the customers. Not the dogs!

Where can we stalk you?

I love a good stalking!

My blog: www.glossaryzine.blogspot.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GlossaryLauren
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Glossaryzine
Instagram: http://instagram.com/glossarylauren
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/glossarylauren/

What it the work/design/product/project you are most proud of to date?

I’ve worked on some rad, national ad campaigns but I’m just glad that I’ve kept up with my blog for so long! I don’t get as much time to scribble there these days but I try to post at least once a week. I’ve also played some cool gigs which I’m pretty proud of.

Thanks so much for having me! x

IMG_2611 IMG_3911 IMG_5182 IMG_5224 IMG_5329 IMG_5360 IMG_5384 IMG_6256 IMG_6274

 

3 thoughts on “Homegrown Creatives: meet multi-talented copywriter, blogger and photographer, Lauren

Leave a Reply

