DIY Wedding Gift: Wood Burned Bread/Chopping Board

On Saturday we went to a wedding (well, baby and I only went to the ceremony, hubby represented at the reception and Addi was left at her Nana’s!) and this is what I made as part of the wedding gift…

wood-burning-4

The couple didn’t have a registry or gift list which can make things tricky, especially if you don’t know them well, as was the case here (friends from hubby’s side and we’d never met the bride before) but I think this is a really useful prezzie, not to mention fun to make :)

wood-burning-7

I wanted to personalise it so included the couples initials as well as the wedding date. I stenciled the design onto the wood with pencil and then used my wood burning / pyrography tool to burn it on… My lettering isn’t perfect but I think it kind of adds to the appeal!

And my favourite part, the cross stitch heart:

wood-burning-8

Once complete, IΒ  paired the board with a lovely linen tea towel that I found at a local gift shop that had such a great quote on it β™₯

wood-burning-5

7 thoughts on “DIY Wedding Gift: Wood Burned Bread/Chopping Board

Leave a Reply

