Pyrography / Wood Burning Tools

Over the past few months, I’ve developed an interest in pyrography (also known as wood burning) and every now and then when I have time (and when Baby Bird is sleeping/not around!) I try my hand at various projects. Here’s my post on My First Attempt at Wood Burning where I created this patterened wooden spoon, and protea design on a wooden chopping board…

clever-bird-banter-wood-burning

Seeing as I’m all about crafting at the moment (WHAT?! You hadn’t noticed?) I’m quite keen to develop the hobby further so I’ve been playing around and exploring more with the tools that I have…

I have two different brands of wood-burning tools (we won’t talk about the two I have already managed to blow up!), and here’s a quick run down on each…

The first one is a gas powered Dremel VersaTip:

clever bird banter dremel versatipThe second, a plug in Weller Woodburning & Hobby Kit:

WELWHK30UKThey both come in neat little storage boxes and with an assortment of tips and accessories. I haven’t used either of them enough to decide which is better, but the weight, look and feel of the Dremel appeal to me more, and being cordless is a major bonus when trying to maneuver the tool around. The cord on the Weller (which I was using last night and today) is irritating me because a) it is quite short and b) it is all curled up from being inside its box – thus making use of the tool quite restrictive and tricky.

The tool tips that come with the Weller are so far the better ones (there is more variety and clearer instructions with the pack on how to use them…) and obviously, being a plug-in, you don’t have to stop and refill with gas, or waste money on an ongoing extra cost.

Both tools work equally impressively in terms of actual heating up and burning, and I haven’t had problems with the functioning of either so far.

My actual work needs much be fine-tuning! Wood burning is much harder than it looks, especially if your wood is not completely smooth and/or hard enough (or too hard!) Curves are the death of me, but thanks to playing around with some of the other tips (have previously only used the one standard tip that comes already-attached on each tool) I’m starting to improve…

messing-around

We’ll see how we go from here – keep a look out for more posts on the subject, and if you are interested in trying it out for yourself, go to your local hardware store to see if they have any tools for sale, or if they can order one for you (My dad owns a Mica Hardware nearby which makes getting my craft supplies a real joy – both of these tools were ordered in for me.)

For inspiration, do a quick search on Pinterest (there is lots of tacky stuff out there too, so beware!) and check out the blogs of Alisa Burke and Geninne Zlatkis who both use wood burning for their art projects on a regular basis (Geninne likes to burn on leather which is also cool and definitely something which Im keen to try soon!)

2 thoughts on “Pyrography / Wood Burning Tools

  1. pamiejane says:

    I am very sorry but I won’t be following these posts……… Ok, I will but please don’t make it sound like something I would like to do. My husband is already moaning about all my crafty stuff and if I go off and find another hobby he might just have heart failure.

    It looks like loads of fun.

Leave a Reply

