Addi’s Birthday Party

Here are a few snapshots from Addi’s party on Sunday – a small family-and-close-friends affair at at Yellowwood Cafe in Howick… We were originally going to have them cater for us, but I changed my mind (for various reasons) and we ended up just paying the venue hire fee (which included Tea & Coffee for the adults) and did all the food and decor ourselves – FUN, but super exhausting!

photo 2wParty prep…

photo 1

photo 1bdWashi tape makes everything look pretty…

photo 4scParty favours

flowers-2Paper flowers (make your own here with a simple DIY!)

photo 5efscMy pride and joy – the cake (will be doing a separate post soon on how to achieve this super easy icing technique!)

DSC_0341

DSC_0335

DSC_0337Veg crudite and homemade hummus dipDSC_0342Pickle skewers (these were a big hit!)DSC_0338Cocktail sausages, mini meatballs and bacon-wrapped prunes + dip – courtesy of my parentals…

DSC_0343

DSC_0336

DSC_0374The Birthday Girl seemed to enjoy herself – all that really matters!

It was such a lovely afternoon and I think our guests really enjoyed it. I loved all the planning and crafting involved – not easy when you have a little critter to run around after, and other work on the go too, but super rewarding!

I’m kind of sad it’s all over and part of me feels a tiny bit disappointed – like I didn’t get to set it all up exactly how I wanted it to look (I know – the perfectionist in me is a killer!) There were two tables instead of one at the venue so had to spread my wares across both which wasn’t ideal PLUS some of our guests arrived half an hour early, just after I started setting up, so it all began with a bit of a fluster on my part! I didn’t get to use some of the stuff I bought/made because there just wasn’t enough time! (I’ve learnt my lesson though – next time I start setting up 2 hours before!)

As I said though, we seemed to pull it all off without any hitches, and my little darling was so spoilt by all the love surrounding her – what a beautiful day!

Thanks to everyone who was part of it, and to those who made the effort to join us from far away x

9 thoughts on “Addi’s Birthday Party

  1. pamiejane says:

    It all looks beautiful, but I understand what you mean about being a perfectionist when it comes to party stuff….. I have that problem too.

  2. the art of photography e-book says:

    Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for a while and yours
    is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the
    supply?

Leave a Reply

