My Reading List (for Keri x)

Keri from the blog Midlands Musings has tagged a couple of bloggers in a ‘reading list challenge’ of sorts (see more here) and here is my post in response to her request that we list our fave books :)

Incidentally, I wrote a post a while back called Growing up with books that some of you might want to take a look at – potentially amusing for those who grew up in the same era as me – some major blasts from the past!

I definitely go through phases with reading though – sometimes I wont pic up a book for months, other times, I’ll read three in the span of a few days – but regardless of frequency, I absolutely LOVE reading, and the escapism it affords me. I have a rather wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiide taste in books. Warning: I don’t shy away from the odd fantasy (love me some Twilight and HP), and I sometimes do like easy reads like {cough, cough, splutter} Jodi Picoult (although admittedly haven’t read one of hers in a while because I have started to find them too ‘samey’) but I promise this list will contain only the quality you are after Kez ;)

A lot of the books I’ve already written blog posts on, so will link where appropriate. I can’t pick a favourite so these are in no order of preference, and they are really just a few of the many great books I’ve read that stand out, not necessarily my “all time favourite top ten”, but HERE GOES…

1. Like Keri, I also lurrrrved The Other Hand, by Chris Cleave  – while I was reading it, I watched a brilliant movie on TV called Incendiary and it was written by Cleave too, so reckon that would be another good one to flip through if you haven’t already read it.

2. The Millenium Trilogy, by Stieg Larson – if you haven’t heard of these and don’t know the gist of the story, then you have surely been living under a rock for the better part of the last few years. If you haven’t read them yet – even worse! Tsk tsk…

3. The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh – an easier read (I think – quite sad though) about a really sweet love story (and more) – worth a try…

4. Zoo City, by Lauren Beukes – there’s a definite fantasy/scifi vibe to this one, might not be everyone’s cuppa but I loved it! More so because it is ‘homegrown’ and there are so many recognisable/identifiable aspects to it (from the language, to the locations etc) Beukes has just released a new book called The Shining Girls which I am excited to try.

5. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, by David Wroblewski – if you love dogs, read this. So touching. Oprah smaaks it stukkend. ( I also LOVED Marley and Me… Big dog fan here!)

6. Room, by Emma Donahue – wow, brilliant writing! “Jack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don’t have the key. Jack and Ma are prisoners” This is a Joseph Fritzle-esque tale from the point of view of Jack, for anyone into those sorts of twisted ‘kidnap’ stories – very good…

7. The Help, by Kathryn Stockket – I mean, really, I don’t have to say much more do I?

8. The White Tiger, by Aravind Adiga – for some reason, I love stories based in India. This one does not disappoint. Read a synopsis here. Fabulously detailed and well written.

9. Spud, by John van de Ruit – um, hilarious! I read this on a night flight from SA to London a while back and couldnt put it down. Much to the dismay of the other passengers, I couldn’t stop snorting with laughter either. Too much funny, especially for those who went to boarding schools and can relate ;) More here, but again, if you haven’t heard about it, Im worried for you!

10. A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini – from the same author as The Kite Runner – a beautiful story set in tumultuous Afghanistan about the intertwined lives of two women… (more here)

At the moment, if I dare to admit (!), I’m enjoying some light reading in the form or books by Nicolas Sparks – yip, the mastermind behind all those amazing-yet-tragic-love-story movies like The Notebook, Nights in Rodanthe, A Walk To Remember, Message in a Bottle – eee tee cee. If you like those, the books are better (the books are ALWAYS better aren’t they?!) and there are loads more that haven’t even been bastardised into films yet. Definitely verging on the ‘easier read’ side of the spectrum, and obviously they all follow a similar formula that leaves you feeling devastated for the characters, but who doesn’t enjoy a good cry every now and then, right?! (This pregnancy is making me tres emotional!)

Big plans to one day read When a Crocodile Eats The Sun and Mukiwa, by Peter Godwin (when I have the energy, emotionally! Because, Zimbabwe.)

Hopefully someone finds something in this post that tickles their fancy – keep me updated – and happy reading all!

x

8 thoughts on “My Reading List (for Keri x)

  1. Kirsty says:

    Hahaha, I had to chuckle because The Language of Flowers is number two on my list of the absolute worst books I have ever read. I hated it. But the others are great :)

  2. dear me says:

    Dying to read ‘The Room’ and I can’t believe I forgot about Kahled Hosseini! I knew this was going to happen:(
    Another interesting Zimbabwe read you might want to take a look at is ‘We are all Zimbabweans now’ by James Kilgore.
    Great list lady, thanks x

    • Andrea says:

      Fab, will add the Kilgore book to my list of books to check out, thanks :) And dont worry, I keep seeing books on everyone elses lists that should also have gone on mine so you are not alone!
      x

  3. Roxy says:

    Hmmm! Ok, Kindle is out, books are being downloaded as I type!
    If you love stories based in India, I would highly recommend Salman Rushdie “Midnights Children” a wonderful tale of adventure and mystique, and of course “Shantaram” by Gregory David Roberts :) x

    • Andrea says:

      Okay – you have me sold – I’ve been umming and ahhing at everyone’s lists, trying to decide on something and haven’t been able to make up my mind. Going with Shantaram, will download this evening! (Glad to find another Kindle user!) x

Leave a Reply

