Dropping off my Santa Shoeboxes…

On Friday, after being fitted with a “moonboot” for my broken ankle, my mom (aka new chauffeur, chef, child minder and general skivvy now that I’m tres immobile) drove me down to Maritzburg to drop off my Santa Shoeboxes at the All Saints United Church in Athlone. The ladies there were beavering away and reported that almost 500 boxes had been dropped off so far…

Loved putting my boxes together and choosing gifts for my four recipients (luckily I bought everything pre-ankle fracture!) – such an awesome feeling knowing that my small contribution will make someone smile this festive season!

So impressed with The Santa Shoebox Project in general – brilliantly organised and put together – thank you to everyone ‘behind the scenes’ for coordinating such a cool operation.

CAN’T WAIT TO DO IT AGAIN IN 2013!

For Zanele, a 13 year old girl – pretty and pink!

For Malusi, a 16 year old boy – a sport themed care package!

For Tsepiso, a 4 year old girl – girly gifts for a little princess!

For Banele, a 3 year old boy – colourful kiddy fun!

My finished boxes…

The brilliant labels/checklists provided – super organised!

Ready for drop-off…

The mother, carrying my four boxes + her own one in…

Santa’s little helpers in PMB…

Lots of presents for kids in need – yay!

2 thoughts on “Dropping off my Santa Shoeboxes…

  1. miche17 says:

    I see you also found the Disney Princess balls – one of my recipients, Sunny, also got one! I must say, next time I hope to be more organised and start earlier to collect nice things for my shoeboxes that aren’t from the Crazy Store. I feel bad giving kids cheap Chinese plastic things that I wouldn’t give Ava, but it’s kind of unavoidable – the cost adds up so quickly with all the things you have to include! It was fun to shop for, though!

  2. Andrea says:

    Ya, next year I definitely want to spend more time on my boxes – wasn’t able to do them how I would have liked this year but had to use what little craft supplies I could find at my parents house because couldn’t go gallivanting around with my ankle! It does mount up quickly but you’ll know from experience with Ava that kids grow out of stuff and lose interest in things so quickly, so sometimes cheaper stuff is better (nice to go for quality with things like toothbrushes etc tho) – lots of fun shopping for kids though, I’m becoming quite good at it, haha ;)

Leave a Reply

