Do What You Love & Do It Often


A few days ago, someone close to me tried to tell me that that I care too much about what other people think, and that they don’t understand why I blog when no one probably cares about it. It sounds harsh, and I’m pretty sure it wasn’t meant as badly as I took it, but it got me thinking…

It may be so on both counts – but in the first instance – I can’t help caring what other people think. I like to please people (not to say that I’m a walkover) and help people and share the things I’ve learned if it means someone else avoiding the mistakes I’ve made. My work (graphic design) involves communicating messages – I need feedback and validation to succeed with it – I need to hear what others take from it. Of course I care what people think, it’s natural.

Maybe I do care a little more than I should, but hey, we all have flaws and as I get older (erk!)Β  I’m learning to pick and choose whose opinion counts.

On the blogging – I considered throwing in the towel after this conversation happened, but soon after came to my senses when I received a well-timed tweet from someone telling me to “keep the creativity going” – I also covered my thoughts on it in this recent post.

The crux of it is that I enjoy blogging – if you find something that you enjoy doing, something that isn’t harmful to others or yourself, something that cultivates your creativity and means something to you – you stick with it and you don’t let other people take that joy away from you. Lesson learnt!

LOVE WHAT YOU DO AND DO IT OFTEN.

That’s all. Happy Thursday people x

{image}

4 thoughts on “Do What You Love & Do It Often

  1. Maree Gecks says:

    Here here!

    I love your blog, so please don’t stop writing.

    I’ve just launched my own business & in the beginning it’s really hard. There’s been so many times when friends have asked why I gave up my career to follow a far fetched dream & sometimes I’ve asked myself the same question. However, the long & short of it is, if something makes you happy, do it & do much more of it, regardless of what anyone thinks.

    Maree x
    http://www.marzipants.co.uk

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks Maree – sorry for the slow reply, only saw your comment now (went to spam by mistake) – really appreciate the support xxx

Leave a Reply

