Movie: True Grit

When people ask me what type of movies I like, my usual answer is “anything but Westerns” – so watching this (and wanting to watch it) was a surprise to even me! I dont know why it caught my attention, I dont know why I chose a dick-flick over a chick-flick, but I do know that I enjoyed it!

The basics, courtesy of IMDb: A tough U.S. Marshal helps a stubborn young woman track down her father’s murderer. Written and Directed by Joel & Ethan Coen and starring Jeff Bridges, Hailee Steinfeld, Matt Damon, and Josh Brolin (as the villain!) – it is the second adaptation of Charles Portis’ 1968 novel (of the same name).

I wont go into too much detail for fear of thinning-out an already predictable plot, but the Western humour and Jeff Bridges’ acting skills definitely make it worth a watch. (By the by – Jeff has been nominated for Best Actor at the Oscars for this.) Not so keen on the scenes where the horses get hurt (how the hell do they get real live horses to pretend to fall down, I still dont get it!) but the story is sweet and I may or may not have shed a tear at the end (which, lets face it, is a given with me!)

Worth a watch and great to have the Western genre back in the good books…

 

 

Leave a Reply

